Placeholder Picture


in Honor of Prof. David M. Lee
(Physicist of the Year)

October 24-25, 2019

Placeholder Picture

Congratulations, Prof. David M. Lee on being named "The 2019 Physicist of the Year." You make us proud!!

Prof. David Lee graduated from Yale in 1959 and then took a position at Cornell University, where he was responsible for setting up the new Atomic and Solid State Physics Laboratory. The work that led to Lee's Nobel Prize was performed in the early 1970s. Lee, together with Robert C. Richardson and graduate student, Doug Osheroff used a Pomeranchuk cell to investigate the behavior of 3He at temperatures within a few thousandths of a degree of absolute zero. In so doing, they discovered unexpected effects in their measurements, which eventually came to be explained as phase transitions to a superfluid phase of 3He. Lee (with Osheroff and Richardson) was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1996 for this discovery. In November 2009, Lee moved his laboratory from Cornell to Texas A&M University where Lee and his coworkers continue to be productive, e.g., their most recent PRL entitled "Formation of Nuclear-Polarized Phases of H Atoms Embedded in Solid H-2 Films." Lee is also a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

All presentations will be given in the IQSE seminar room (578 MPHY).


Please come join us for an evening of Physics, Fellowship, and Food as we celebrate with the 2019 Physicist of the Year! Everyone is welcome. The dinner will begin at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 24, 2019 in Mockingbird at the Hilton College Station and Conference Center (801 University Drive East, College Station, TX 77840). Please RSVP by 12 noon on Wednesday, October 23, 2019.

Dinner RSVP Attendance Only (deadline has passed)
Dinner RSVP Regrets Only (email sent to the IQSE)
Current Dinner RSVP Attendance List